I see more and more businesses using automated systems, especially check-out in stores. People no longer do those jobs. Now since corona more people are out of work and automation will not give many people employment.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .